After 7 years we finally did it, Blocking has arrived in Retrospring!
You can now go on a profile of any user and find a “Block” (or Unblock) button in the actions dropdown!
What happens when blocking a user?
- You block that user from having any interaction with you
- This includes you interacting with that user in any form
- Any follow-relationship will be cancelled upon blocking
- However, you both will still be able to see each others posts/comments on the site
Yes, once you block a user, they at the moment don't see much of a difference when visiting your profile, aside the fact that they cannot interact with you anymore.
All posts/comments are still visible to them.
We are currently doing this because Retrospring does not feature private profiles (yet) and hiding content can easily be circumvented by just logging out or using a private browser window, so it effectively does not make a difference.
At some point in the future we might hide posts from users that blocked you completely and show placeholders (how Twitter does it in threads for example) but that requires some more background work being done.
Something else that is currently missing is an interface to list all users someone is currently blocking. We'll be working on this in the near future, for now we thought it'd be nice to have the general blocking feature out of the way!
Note: This does not include blocking specific anonymous users from asking you questions, this will follow up in the future.
So there's that! A feature that we all wanted for so long, finally arriving!